CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) has announced the recipients of the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars are from Morgantown High School in Monongalia County and Wheeling Park High School in Ohio County.

Lauren Jiayi Shen from Morgantown High School and Grant Carter Kenamond from Wheeling Park High School were named along with scholars from the 49 other states by U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona made the announcement today.

Nationwide, only 5,700 of the estimated 3.7 million people that expected to graduate this year qualified based on their performance on the SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by chief state school officers, other partner recognition organizations and YoungArts, the National Foundation for the Advancement of Artists.

Only 161 high school seniors were selected as Presidential Scholars.

“West Virginia students are world-class scholars, and Lauren and Grant are exceptional ambassadors for our state,” said State Superintendent of Schools Michele L. Blatt. “These students exemplify scholarly accomplishment, excellence and a commitment to civic responsibility that is inspiring. We wish them the very best in their future endeavors.”

The 2024 Presidential Scholars will be honored this summer an online recognition program. The students are recognized based on academic success, artistic and technical excellence, performance in career technical education, and a demonstrated commitment to ethical standards and ideals.