Students from Monongalia and Harrison counties nominated to U.S. military academies

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. — Of the 32 young men and women selected to attend a U.S. service academy, 3 are from Monongalia County.

U.S. Senator Shelley Moore Capito’s office announced the lawmaker’s selections made up of high school seniors in 15 West Virginia counties.

Capito nominated Robert Munroe Warner to attend the U.S. Air Force Academy. Aaron Carl Flowers was chosen to attend the U.S. Military Academy. Alia Nicole Stutzman will attend the US Naval Academy.

According to Capito, military academy nominees often earn “a lot of engineering degrees and computer science” degrees.

She told WAJR radio “You get to travel the world. You become a part of the U.S. military which is the best and brightest, I think, in this country. You get to network with the brightest minds. I just think it’s a positive experience.”

Capito hosted a number of informational meetings across the state earlier this year encouraging interest in higher education through the military.

“Over the last several months I have met exceptional students from all over West Virginia who are pursuing admission to our nation’s service academies. These outstanding young people represent the future of West Virginia, and I am proud to nominate them for admission to these prestigious academic institutions,” said Capito.

Service Academy Nominees are listed below:

United States Air Force Academy
Caleb Matthew Barley, Raleigh County
Nickolas John Elekes (also nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy), Berkeley County
Jacob Philip Fisher, Berkeley County
Bryce N. Graley, Putnam County
Andrew Ross Henthorn, Kanawha County
Zachary Allen Kovalski, Ohio County
Andrew Jacob Panzarella, Jefferson County
Charly Rojas, Berkeley County
William Russell Sellers, Ohio County
Robert Munroe Warner, Monongalia County

United States Merchant Marine Academy
Kenneth Tyler Evans, Raleigh County

United States Military Academy
Drew Alexander Adams, Wirt County
Alexander Anthony Altenburg, Harrison County
Cole Douglas Amos, Harrison County
Bethany Faye Blankenship, Kanawha County
Aaron Carl Flowers, Monongalia County
Kayla Dawn Foley, Raleigh County
Zachary Alan Kimble, Harrison County
Sebastien Luc Morel (also nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy), Berkeley County
Tyler F. Owens (also nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy), Pocahontas County
Fisher Alan Rector, Harrison County

United States Naval Academy
Antonella Carmen Blanco, Monroe County
Brette Elizabeth Geary, Brooke County
Joshua Daniel Greear, Kanawha County
Clay Paul Havens, Monroe County
Aislyn Marie Hayman, Mason County
Quentein Ethan Lavallee, Jefferson County
Devan Jay McKinney, Boone County
Haden Ryan Miller, Harrison County
Andrea Rae Queen, Mineral County
Alia Nicole Stutzman, Monongalia County
Hunter Christian White, Mason County