White Park sewer work begins, Upper Popenoe Run public meeting scheduled

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. The Morgantown Utility Board (MUB) has begun work on Phase I improvements to the Cobun Creek Sewer Interceptor in White Park. Phase I is valued at $379,150 and includes more than 1,000 feet of pipe and the replacement of eight brick manholes with precast, coated structures, according to assistant general manager and chief engineer Rich Rogers.

“We’ve started on the lower end toward University Motors, and we’re working our way back up to the Cobun One Reservoir,” Rogers said.

The work is expected to be completed in about three weeks, depending on weather and working conditions. Phase II from University Motors across Don Knots Boulevard to the MUB Water Treatment Plant.

“We’ll hopefully go out for a bid with Phase II in 2024,” Rogers said. “It will probably be in late 2024 or early 2025 before Phase II starts.”

The City of Morgantown continues to work with design firms on a bridge for the walking trail as part of the agreement for the construction of the raw watermain and the George B. Flegal Dam and Reservoir. According to Assistant City Manager Emily Muzzarelli, most of the trail and bridge work will likely be pushed into 2024.

As part of the agreement, some tree planting could happen this year outside of White Park.

General Manager Mike McNulty told board members the project to improve the Upper Popenoe Run storm, water, and drainage systems has hit an important milestone and is ready for public input.

“We’re right at the 50-percent completion mark of the plans, and we have our first scheduled public meeting this Thursday,” McNulty said. “It is January 26 at 5 p.m. in the Wiles Hill Community Center.”

Senior MUB Engineer, Ken Hacker, will lead the meeting, which will include design firms that have completed the flood study since the dual flooding events in the summer of 2021.

“E. L. Robinson Engineering and All Star Ecology, our consultants will be there to help with the presentation and answer questions,” McNulty said.

Board members also elected Barbara Parsons as president, Tom Whitt as vice president, Erik Carlson as secretary, and Karen Kunz as treasurer for the upcoming year.